Approve the content
By default, any user with Edit permissions can undertake any content reviews (the approval) in a workflow state to approve or reject the page or blog post. This is done through the workflow popup:
The content review (approval) is usually characterised by two buttons "Approve" and "Reject". Approving or rejecting the content will cause the page or blog post to transition (move) to another state in the workflow. The reviewer has the option to Add comment. The comment will be included with any notifications of the approval.
The workflow added above is the Content Expiry Workflow. In the Review state for this workflow:
- an approval decision will publish the content to the Approved state, allowing users with View permissions to view the page or blog post
- a rejection decision will move the content to another draft state, the Rejected state
The workflow progress tracker bar does not show the Rejected state except when the workflow is in the Rejected state:
Content in the Rejected state is also subject to a content review. A rejection decision does not cause a transition - although it is recorded as an event in Page Activity. If the page is edited and updated, the workflow will cause a transition from this state to the Review state.
The Approved state is the published version of the page or blog post. In the published Approved state the workflow popup displays a message confirming the content has gone through an approval process:
Once a version of the content has been approved, this published page or blog post can be seen by View-only users.
If you are working on a draft, the published Approved version will still be available. View-only users will not be able to see any versions that are considered as draft, these are versions in either the Review or the Rejected states.
The popup also includes the time period for the content expiry from the time of transition to the Approved state. This is the time period set in the workflow setup, the workflow popup displays the time remaining to the due date. It can be amended by a user using the Page Tools menu. If another version is approved and published before due period expires this time period will be reset.